. . . luv 'n stitches for our tired old world

Thanksgiving Weekend ❤ prairie road trip


sunset_KWH4926Hey, so is it just me or do these clouds from last night’s sunset remind anyone else of self-striping yarn? Hmmm… perhaps they’re more variegated than striped? Tell me true, do you think so too?

Well anyway, we’re happy and thankful to be home-sweet-home again after our 13-hour Thanksgiving road trip. The weather was great… The turkey was tasty… Desserts were in abundance… And it was SO good to spend a few days visiting with family!
Only it’s just too bad we all live so far apart. ❤

Away from home, the iPad was a very handy travel companion. It captured some really decent pics and was convenient for checking inboxes. And when we found ourselves driving smack dab in the middle of two of God’s supremely colourful sky-scapes, the iPad made it so easy to post the rainbow/sunset video onto my KWH Facebook page. Click my FB link to check it out. ❤ Also, for a quick glimpse of the awesome autumn beauty across Canada’s wide open spaces, here is a slideshow from the rest of our highway-drive-by shots. 🙂 Oh how I love the changing leaves and golden fields. The harvested fields might be stubble, but they’re golden in the sun and dotted with hundreds (dare I say thousands) of bailed balls from harvested crops. Truly a sight to behold, under the clear blue sky with cotton-baton clouds! Call me Canadian, but I think it’s gorgeous ❤

Looking back, I’m surprised to have taken so few photos of livestock. We actually drove past plenty of grazing animals… cows, buffalo, and even a flock of sheep! Missed some potentially good pics, for sure… Sure wish I hadn’t missed that sheep shot! Oh well, that’s life when you’re driving down the highway 😉

Happy Autumn! ❤ Jackie

16 responses

  1. Gorgeous. Sunsets are one of my favourite things in the world. The way the colours are so different and yet still all work together.

    Like

    October 22, 2013 at 4:59 pm

    • Thanks Beks ❤ I totally agree and have about a billion sunset pics to prove it! Sunsets are also ever-changing… This yarny pie in the sky sunset pic actually started out pretty well cloud-free, then the clouds knit in 😉

      Like

      October 22, 2013 at 5:46 pm

  2. Love the video you made! Just beautiful!!

    Like

    October 23, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    • Thanks BecauseOfGrace ❤ Those harvest pics will be a sight for sore eyes, come Jan/Feb! And the rainbow/sunset video was a gift of God’s great timing 🙂

      Like

      October 24, 2013 at 12:29 am

  3. it came out crystal clear, thanks for taking us along 🙂

    Like

    October 24, 2013 at 1:29 pm

  4. OMG, I LOVE the video and the music is perfect. It felt like I was traveling right along with you bouncing a bit in the back of the car. LOL I am having this real internal debate about whether to get an Ipad or laptop or even a Kindle Fire, my lowest choice. I think the Ipad may get the highest vote after seeing this. I will try to get the facebook pics, too. Just absolutely beautiful video and scenery. Great highway for traveling and viewing. It confirms my belief that Canada is beautiful country. Glad you had a good trip!!!

    Like

    October 24, 2013 at 5:18 pm

    • Hey Carol, happy to have you along for the ride! Your colourful comment made my day ❤ Yes, the iPad is pretty neat! It’s simple/fun and can do lots of stuff that we don’t even realize yet… I highly recommend it 🙂

      Like

      October 27, 2013 at 9:06 pm

  5. Anonymous

    Wow Jackie, I loved seeing the rest of your road trip! Such a beautiful time to be driving and it looks like you had a perfect (but long) day! So glad to have had you visit! I now also want an ipad to take on the road!

    Like

    October 29, 2013 at 8:46 am

    • Thanks Laura ❤ We always enjoy vacationing with you, even when it’s just a stay-cation for you at your own place!

      Like

      October 31, 2013 at 3:20 pm

  6. Pingback: the KWH iPad Show #23 💜 healing hope for HPP | knitting with heart

  7. Pingback: #46 💜 Do you see what I see? | knitting with heart

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.