. . . luv 'n stitches for our tired old world

David Adolf Constant Artz (1837 – 1890, Dutch)


Although the “I Am A Child โ€“ Children in Art History” blog is no longer active, it remains available as an online archive of fine art. Packed with over 30,000 paintings from 3,100+ artists, I wasย delighted to find this collection of knitting/sheepish/everyday childhood recollections by David Adolf Constant Artz… Enjoy! โ™ฅ Jackie

I AM A CHILD

(Part II)

Consolation

The First Step

Awaiting Fatherโ€™s Homecoming

Awaiting Fatherโ€™s Return โ€“ Watching The Ships Return

Midday Meal โ€“ At Grandmotherโ€™s

Coming From Church

Maternal Cares

Idyll โ€“ A Happy Tune

Mother With Children And Lamb

Preparing Lunch

Return Of The Herd

A Girl Knitting In The Dunes

The Fishermanโ€™s Return

A Girl Playing With A Doll

A Walk In The Dunes

Maternal Cares

A Young Cowherd

A Fisherman And His Family

Children Knitting On The Beach

Family On The Dunes

(See also: Part I)

View original post

43 responses

  1. Wow. Stunning!

    Liked by 2 people

    April 18, 2016 at 11:31 pm

  2. Love these thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

    April 18, 2016 at 11:50 pm

    • Thanks for enjoying them, Pam! ๐Ÿ™‚ โ™ฅ โค

      Liked by 1 person

      April 19, 2016 at 12:13 am

      • I have a thing for paintings…

        Liked by 2 people

        April 19, 2016 at 12:14 am

        • Oh? Do you paint? I can’t paint to save my life ๐Ÿ˜‰ but do admire paintings! I find these have a calming beauty about them ๐Ÿ™‚ โ™ฅ โค

          Liked by 1 person

          April 19, 2016 at 12:24 am

          • I love to paint but have nerve damage in my hands that make it difficult. So, I write and use paintings to illustrate my work. Sometimes, I use them to inspire details in my writing. Some people miss my homepage because the reader takes them to page 2 but I have quite a collection on my blog. I enjoy the ones you posted because they are such sweet illustrations of everyday life.

            Liked by 1 person

            April 19, 2016 at 12:33 am

            • Sweet and tranquil illustrations, indeed! Oh hey, very interesting about your home page… I generally don’t use the Reader, but have often wanted to pin your posts. Pinterest requires an image, though. So from now on, I’ll keep one eye on your home page! ๐Ÿ™‚ โ™ฅ โค

              Liked by 1 person

              April 20, 2016 at 4:02 pm

  3. Stunning. Thank you for the share. There is just something about Dutch paintings that I can simply never get enough of.

    Liked by 1 person

    April 19, 2016 at 2:18 am

  4. Aww – this is so lovely! I just love dutch paintings so, so much! Thank you for sharing this with us! ๐Ÿ˜€ Sarah xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    April 19, 2016 at 7:53 am

  5. What a glorious selection!

    Liked by 1 person

    April 20, 2016 at 1:13 am

    • Well you know, Jean… Those seashore paintings made me think of you โค And now, I'm so glad to hear you did enjoy them! ๐Ÿ™‚ โ™ฅ โค

      Like

      April 20, 2016 at 4:29 pm

      • That’s so nice of you , Jackie. I’m delighted to be thought of in the same breath as the sea.

        Liked by 1 person

        April 21, 2016 at 2:47 pm

  6. This was a nice treat! I like mid day lunch the most – the teacup being held has an elegance to the everyday feel – and just called to me. I also liked the waiting slash ship return – but the series has a historic mood! Do you have a fav?

    Liked by 1 person

    April 22, 2016 at 6:57 pm

    • Yes, historic yet timeless life moments! My favourite would be the girl knitting in the dunes… That’s the one that caught my eye on Pinterest ๐Ÿ™‚ โ™ฅ โค

      Liked by 1 person

      April 22, 2016 at 9:48 pm

      • oh yeah, I like it too – has such a life out in nature feel and then that by the sea enchantment

        Liked by 1 person

        April 22, 2016 at 9:49 pm

  7. Wonderful art!

    Liked by 1 person

    April 22, 2016 at 7:45 pm

  8. So nice, love the beautiful images, greatwork!!
    Sherri

    Liked by 1 person

    April 22, 2016 at 7:46 pm

    • Great to hear you enjoyed this post, Sherri ๐Ÿ™‚ โ™ฅ โค

      Like

      April 22, 2016 at 9:52 pm

  9. The Classical era is a treasure of beauty. Cheers.Jal

    Liked by 1 person

    April 23, 2016 at 9:59 am

  10. What beautiful images! โค

    Liked by 1 person

    April 24, 2016 at 9:24 am

    • Indeed, the entire archived blog is a wonderful format for artwork preservation! ๐Ÿ™‚ โ™ฅ โค

      Liked by 1 person

      April 26, 2016 at 6:04 pm

  11. I love the one called “The First Step.” It just shows that though the fashions may change, people’s behavior stays much the same. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    April 25, 2016 at 8:41 am

    • Oh yes, that one is a particularly precious moment for all time! And without photographs, every stroke will have been painted from peaceful memory in the artist’s heart ๐Ÿ™‚ โ™ฅ โค

      Liked by 1 person

      April 26, 2016 at 6:36 pm

  12. Wow. These are master pieces – so living, like photos. My favorite one is โ€œIdyll โ€“ A Happy Tuneโ€.

    Liked by 1 person

    April 27, 2016 at 12:08 am

    • Oh yes, the paintings are quite life-like! Thanks for weighing-in with your favourite, Sartenada ๐Ÿ™‚ … can almost hear the boy playing his happly tune ๐Ÿ™‚ โ™ฅ โค

      Like

      April 30, 2016 at 8:39 pm

  13. Beautiful paintings, the way they are set out.

    Liked by 1 person

    April 30, 2016 at 2:23 am

  14. This work is incredible! Let the happy tunes of magical hours play in our heart, too. Thanks for all the likes and follow.

    Liked by 1 person

    May 2, 2016 at 8:54 pm

    • Indeed, the heart loves to play a happy tune!
      Thanks to you for finding me first, Deepak ๐Ÿ™‚ Your blog is filled with positive thoughts, which makes it quite “likeable” ๐Ÿ™‚ โ™ฅ โค

      Like

      May 4, 2016 at 12:22 am

  15. Thank you so much for sharing these.

    Like

    May 3, 2016 at 1:51 am

Leave a Reply

