. . . luv 'n stitches for our tired old world

dear ol’ dad ♥


my Socks by Beehive knitting pattern booklet & leftover wool

my “Socks by Beehive” knitting pattern
booklet & leftover wool from dad’s socks

Many years ago when I was first learning to knit, I made my dad a pair of socks from this Beehive knitting pattern booklet. That was my first ever pair of hand-knit socks. The pattern was basic. The yarn was a lovely wool in charcoal grey. And my dad loved wearing them 🙂

Several years passed before trying my hand at knitting a second pair of socks—this time for my Uncle Pete. Only then did I realize that my dear ol’ dad had been darning those old socks with nary a peep of complaint. Sigh… and just look at all the leftover yarn I could’ve, would’ve (should’ve) mended them with, for him! He doesn’t wear them anymore, though, since he now lives in heaven… But that was my daaaad… What a guy! ♥

Happy Father’s Day ♥ Jackie

.

 

7 responses

  1. A lovely post that says so much about your father!

    Like

    June 15, 2014 at 4:11 am

    • Thanks Jean 🙂 Yup, my dad had ingenuity and was not one to complain… Sure miss him sometimes 😥 ❤ ❤

      Like

      June 15, 2014 at 1:30 pm

  2. Lovely memory abt dad and thanks for the you-tube sharing.. 😉

    Like

    June 16, 2014 at 5:18 am

    • Thanks Angela 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the video… The girl makes me laugh because I used to sound just like her! 😉 ❤ ❤

      Like

      June 16, 2014 at 11:52 am

  3. Just a quick note to tell you I’ve nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blog Award – ck out this post for the details.

    http://writeknit.wordpress.com/2014/06/10/very-inspiring-blogger-award-nomination/

    Thanks for your blog – I really enjoy it!

    Laura (writeknit.wordpress.com)

    Like

    June 19, 2014 at 7:19 am

  4. Pingback: the KWH iPad Show 💜 just you, me & my iPad | knitting with heart

Leave a Reply

