. . . luv 'n stitches for our tired old world

think S-P-R-I-N-G ❤ while winter fades into the sunset


think S-P-R-I-N-G ❤ while winter fades into the sunset

Fresh snow on the first day of spring…
This, following the last day of winter 
…after the snow had mostly melted 😦

As you can see from this photo, spring arrived in all its glory at 10:57 Thursday morning—windy, snowy, falling temperatures. Spring’s weather will arrive fashionably late… Can’t say we’re surprised! Can’t even say it’ll be the last of this year’s fresh snow. But today is Friday and the skies are shining brilliant blue. Some snow has already melted and we are basking in the weakening remains of our winter wonderland. Winter was brutal for what felt like forever, this year. So any sign of weakness is a positive thing! Ah well, winter’s end is always good… even if it’s just on paper :-/

January, of all months, was (in my opinion) our most beautiful month! That’s when Old Man Winter and the plunging polar vortex took a hike across North America in pursuit of more exotic destinations. Our northern region got a warming cold shoulder and half-a-month’s worth of mild, melting, spring-like temperatures 🙂 Stranger things have happened, but I sure don’t mind if January feels like spring!

Our west-facing backyard backs onto a field, giving us an unobstructed view of the sky and causing my sunset photo collection to balloon! Some say sunsets are “seen one, seen ’em all”… But to me they’re each uniquely beautiful! Here’s one particularly spectacular mid-January sunset 🙂

My pics are amateur and our camera is about 10 years old (Kodak P880, a mere 8 megapixels), so you can just imagine what a blazingly beautiful sight to behold this sunset actually was in real life! Incidentally, the span of the panoramic photo is just a bit broader than the distance traveled by the setting sun throughout the year.

Drawing inspiration from all the panoramic sunset/beach photos of Thailand over at the Don Charisma blog, I felt the itch to stitch together a panoramic view of my own. In gathering together my photos, I was delighted to have captured a series of pics that could be pieced together for a panoramic view. So I got out my GIMP photo editing software and got to work! How fun 🙂 … but something soon seemed to be off. The clouds I had stitched were arched like a rainbow… yet… how could THAT be?!? My heart sunk. Oh but wait! Turns out I had also shot a video. So wOw, I was glad to see that! 🙂 Who knew there could be a rainbow in the fiery sun-setting clouds above all that blanket of snow!

Wishing you rainbows in the snow! ❤ Jackie

 ❤ ❤ ❤
.
The heavens proclaim the glory of God.
The skies display his craftsmanship.
Psalm 19:1
New Living Translation (NLT)

10 responses

  1. Your photos are elegant in their simplicity and quiet beauty! Thank you for posting them!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    March 23, 2014 at 1:52 pm

    • Thank you Helen… to God be all the glory! ❤ That night, the entire sky was God’s canvas and I’ll never forget what a tiny speck of a speck it felt like to be standing out there under such a powerful sunset! 🙂 ❤

      Like

      March 23, 2014 at 3:39 pm

  2. Your photos are stunning. And I’m quietly envying your snow.

    Liked by 1 person

    March 25, 2014 at 2:12 am

  3. Great post! I love your blog as well! I have my own prairie post today (http://helloscarlettblog.com/2014/03/28/here-comes-the-sun/). I’d love to hear your thoughts!

    Emory
    helloscarlettblog.com

    Like

    March 28, 2014 at 7:50 am

    • Thanks for stopping by my patch on the prairies, Emory 🙂 Enjoyed this morning’s walk at your blog too 🙂 ❤

      Like

      March 28, 2014 at 7:07 pm

      • Thank you for your beautiful comment on my blog! It’s so well-written. :-)))

        Like

        March 28, 2014 at 7:09 pm

        • Awe… well thank you, Emory 🙂 Your comments could not be sweeter! ❤

          Like

          March 30, 2014 at 12:00 am

  4. Pingback: Happy Spring E-eek-quinox ♥ | knitting with heart

  5. Pingback: the KWH iPad Show #24 💜 I’m thankful for… | knitting with heart

Leave a Reply

