. . . luv 'n stitches for our tired old world

Today is “I LOVE YARN DAY” ❤ more loops, less hoop d’ loop!


I love yarn day 2013 logo

Today is I LOVE YARN DAY … and we the knitters, crocheters & crafters (lovers of yarn that we are)
LOVE to increase our yarn! Yes it’s true, we’ve all
let our stitches slip, once in a while. And the fact is,
there will be days when we’ll need to drop them
altogether. Even so, we all know that the key to
any raised increase is to fundamentally alternate
with a row or more of solid, foundational, good ol’ fashioned knit & purl or single crochet stitches.

But today is I LOVE YARN DAY … and we the knitters, crocheters & crafters
(lovers of yarn that we are) live in pursuit of a good yarn on the selvage!
We continually gauge ourselves, while planning every strategically slipped,
dropped and/or most basic of stitches. And we are mindful of the fact that,
as with any good yarn, every loose end will eventually need to be woven in.

Maybe if politicians all knew how to knit, the fabric of life
would be constructed of more loops with fewer hoop d’ loop… ?!?

One more note, in the spirit of today’s “birds of a feather” theme…
Thanksgiving Day in Canada is this weekend—on Monday, October 14th. 🙂
We are thankful and looking forward to spending Thanksgiving with family.
Yes, our family and turkey feast with all the trimmings is a mere 13 hour drive away!

And if a certain rafter group decides to talk turkey?
Well, then everyone will be thankful to be able to get back to work!

Happy Thanksgiving ❤ Jackie

13 responses

  1. Pingback: Friday Faves: Yarn Day | yo soy alis

  2. You have said it so well. Been quiet and introspective for awhile now trying to cope with it all that is going on in my life and in the government. Just getting out of my introspective state. lol I never knew that there was an “I Love Yarn Day”!!! Nice to know.

    Like

    October 11, 2013 at 9:44 am

    • Hey there Carol, so good to hear from you 🙂 Hope all is well ❤

      Like

      October 12, 2013 at 4:58 pm

      • lol Not exactly…. Still trying to get on my feet, but defintely off the boot, thus still quite housebound. A miscarriage at about 1-2 months PG last week which was a bit of a shock and had to figure out how at my age I could child care another. This weekend almost 4 days off and working on my quilting, a denim rag quilt to be specific that has been in the process to cover a living room chair rocker.

        In this era of impending economic doom my current inspiration is that just one chair with a denim rag quilt cover will look silly, SOOOOO I will make pillow covers of the same for the couch. Then to keep with this theme of poverty threatening everywhere, with all the material found around the house not in use I can make fancy rag quilt curtains for the windows keeping with the theme of the era and a frugal lifestyle. Isn’t that what they did in desparate times and is how quilting began? Thus keeping with the quilting theme of poverty in the entire room. Then I can move on to the rest of the rooms in the house.

        I have had the scooter out once and it is really fun, But now thinking of saving battery power instead of wasted miles or draining it. Definitely an era of extremes

        It is inspiration out of desparation or cabin fever is causing me to slowly lose my mind. lol Quiet peace is in knitting another shawl.

        Like

        October 13, 2013 at 2:37 pm

        • Oh dear… Life is so filled with unexpected twists! Did your daughter have a miscarriage? I hope all is well with your family. ❤ I’m so glad to hear your leg is getting well and that you’re able to get out ‘n about ❤ Hope your scooter’s battery holds up and you can get outdoors for more scoots before the weather turns. Also good to hear that Washington is back at work (for a few more months, anyway). Hope they’ll smooth all their wrinkles sooner than later! In the meanwhile, great to hear you’re turning thoughts of despiration into crafty, inspirational charm! May you continue to flourish amidst the threat of thorns! 🙂 Truly, your poverty-busting crafting ideas sound très chic! That creative mind of yours is a gift, I must say 🙂 Your rag quilting decor will surely be stylish… and it’d be great to see pics! See that? Your flair for writing makes even a non-sewist like me want to see what you’re doing and think to possibly give it a try… So, hmmm 😉 … who knows, right? Take care and ttys ❤

          Like

          October 20, 2013 at 6:27 pm

          • It was my daughter-in-law.
            I have had the scooter out a couple of times and it goes too fast to walk the dog. A young dog maybe, but she is not that young anymore., can take off in a run after a rabbit or something of her choosing though. It is really fun, but I am being cautious. The weather has turned so quickly, but it is nice to know it is here for the spring. i should be stronger and more on my feet and stronger by then. Right now I am staying only on the block and around corner just in case so I can make it back home. lol Around the house I am fine, but went out on a couple of errands with a friend driving me and it was a VERY humbling experience to say the least as everyone else was moving so “fast.” lol If God is in this, I think he wants me to get this “stuff” done around this house as not going anywhere far or fast for awhile. He’s “grounded” me so I get busy. I can get so distracted by life.
            I will probably have to work at getting back to where I was all winter, so have a knitting project added to the standing list to relax and donate. Thus I have been sorting and organizing my yarn stash for the colder months.
            I sewed way back when and have little confidence in my skills now, but learning the quilting as I go and doing scrap quilts one can make a mistake and figure out how to just keep going. lol Guess I am a lazy quilter, but I just want it to be fun and not stressful with all the measuring, etc. for now.
            It is so easy now with the computer machines as just push a button and it sews instead of the foot control and it stops and programs the stitches in a second. I gave my other machine to an experienced sewer and got this little very simple to use one that anybody could use. When my muscles get tired of knitting or other needlework, it really is nice to go to the machine and let it do most of the work and still be creating something. I highly recommend it. lol

            Like

            October 24, 2013 at 4:57 pm

            • Yup, that’s my plan too… to keep super-busy inside all winter and get tons of stuff done in time for spring! This AM we awoke to our first snowfall of the season, so the clock is ticking! Double-yup to the benefits of getting “grounded” by God. He does it for our own good… which is how my little pattern finally got around to getting posted for sale this summer 😉 You have so many crafty talents! I’d love to know how to sew well. For me, a simple sewing machine would be handy for misc crafty projects and that’s about all my sewing skills are worth ❤

              Like

              October 27, 2013 at 8:45 pm

              • Believe me I am just learning the sewing all over again and anything beyond the simple sewing a straight line for these scarp quilts or pushing a button for an embroidery stitch to guide the material through, most sewing would be way beyond me. You just have to start somewhere and begin. A quilt and sewing teacher would be horrified at my “technique.” But like I say, it is mine, and it is just all about having some fun with it. If something doesn’t quite fit, I just decide how to change the imagined pattern to a new one until I get a square about 16″ and the same for all to sew all of them together. Each larger square might even be different, thus a scrap quilt. LOL I couldn’t even make another to match it again.

                Like

                October 28, 2013 at 4:11 pm

                • Heehee, so good! … I understand and agree completely 😉 Plus, we may safely assume that my junior high home-economics teacher was definitely horrified at my sewing technique! Ah yes, the good old days… lol … Life is good when we take our creative license and turn “oopsies” into one-of-a-kind crafted items ❤

                  Like

                  October 31, 2013 at 3:14 pm

                  • Yup!! Working on some quilt oopsies right now. LOL

                    Like

                    November 2, 2013 at 5:37 pm

                    • Oh good 🙂 … another ta-dah in the making ❤

                      Like

                      November 4, 2013 at 11:36 pm

  3. Hey Jackie! Happy belated Thanksgiving! It sounds like you had quite a drive, but it is so nice to spend time with family! I hope you’re back safe and sound!

    Like

    October 20, 2013 at 5:07 pm

    • Thanks Sandy 🙂 Yes, it was a long time to sit in the car, but totally worth the great time we had with family ❤

      Like

      October 22, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Leave a Reply

