. . . luv 'n stitches for our tired old world

family ❤ summertime spun


toast-spindle to the clear blue summer sky

Well, here we are… I must have blinked… because we’re suddenly half-way through the second half of August! Can you believe it?!? Yep, the days are definitely getting shorter. 😦 Daytime highs are still hanging-in, up there… Overnight lows are beginning to dip a bit, though. These days, we’re lovin’ sleeping under the covers with the windows open to the crisp night air. Still, wouldn’t it be great to have a summertime “pause” button right about now?

For me, summer is the one season that is always too short. This is especially true since we moved here. Around here, that “other” season hogs half the year by blanketing us in that fluffy 4-letter-word (which shall remain nameless) that falls from the skies! Then there’s those messy spring and fall seasons, which tend to stir up an unsettled mix of weather through most of the rest of the year. Thus, in my effort to make the most of the past several weeks, it appears that my blog has been left napping in the sun… I hope you don’t feel forgotten!

Oh, but thank goodness for facebook, right? Interacting with you on my Knitting With Heart facebook page is a quick way to have some good ol’ fibrous fun! It’s been fun for me, anyway… and I hope for you too 🙂 Thank you for joining me here, and there, from everywhere! ❤

Continuing from my previous post, Helen’s visit was sure a lot of fun! Upon her arrival, one of the first things she noticed was my spindle (tucked behind a living room chair). She asked, “what’s that?” (in her non-crafter-yet-highly-intrigued voice). “That’s my turkish drop spindle from Knit Picks”, I said… then demonstrated how I’ve been spinning newsprint into yarn. Unbeknownst to us, my husband was inspired to point the iPad our way for a quick clip. Had it BEEN known to us, I’d at least have not worn my glasses on my chin… yeesh!!! . . . NOTE: in his quest to capture an impromptu moment, he did not (for fear of incessant re-takes, no doubt) divulge his efforts until later… lol … And so it’s not skydiving, but it is a fun memory! Besides, the recycling of paper into yarn does lend itself toward a favourable, earth-friendly view. It’s just from a different perspective than skydiving 😀

Now let us raise our spindles in a toast to the clear blue summer sky!
It’s always summer somewhere, right?!? ❤ Jackie

30 responses

  1. yup.. just can’t believe that we are at mid Aug and less than 100 days away from X’mas.. thank you for your post today.. 😀

    Like

    August 23, 2013 at 11:00 pm

    • Hi Wisher, thanks for stopping by ❤ Wow, less than 100 days until Christmas?!? I hadn’t even thought about that…

      Like

      August 23, 2013 at 11:08 pm

  2. Thanks for sharing, so nice to see you having fun and to put a face to your name 🙂 Hope you get an extra long summer.
    Btw, I’ve done that with my glasses too, they slip down if I try to put them on top of my head!

    Like

    August 24, 2013 at 4:57 am

    • Thanks thewoollyscouser ❤ Hoping your summer is extra long too 🙂 Those glasses are funny things… We can wear ’em on top of the head, but they’ll slip and/or pull a few annoying hairs out of place. Or wear ’em on the nose and have to look overtop of them. The chin has proven a surprisingly convenient perch. So many times, I’ll even go outside or be talking to someone with them on my chin—so dorky! 😉 Oh, and there’s already a pic of me on November’s “Fibre Harvest” post @ https://knittingwithheart.wordpress.com/2012/11/07/fibre-harvest/#comments

      Like

      August 25, 2013 at 10:00 pm

  3. I missed you and probably you have not seen much from me either. My blog doesn’t work right and I do not know how to fix it —-yet. I love your little video clip. Now I know how you look like. Love the sweater! I am with you on the 4 letter word stuff. I hate it. I moved to USA, so I never have to do that mess again. Moved to Virginia. Than met my husband and where does he drag me? North. But we lived in Clearwater, FL for a while. Just could not make a business go , went broke, my husband found Jesus as savior and decided we move NORTH again. Living in PA 28 years. that is where we raised our children and all 3 families live in PA, though my son is ready to move anywhere outside the USA. Be blessed and have a great weekend!

    Like

    August 24, 2013 at 5:27 am

    • Thanks Beate, I’ve missed you too ❤ All summer, my inbox has been SO backlogged, but I have noticed the broken links between your email updates and actual blog pages 😦 You’ll get it figured out soon! I’d been admiring Helen’s hooded sweater with flared wrists too. She said she got it on sale for $10 somewhere! My other 4-letter weather word since moving here is “wind”. Earlier this year, it was windy for a month straight!!! I’d actually taken video of the wind and thought of posting it to the blog, but didn’t want to sound angry. Alberta’s got lots of jobs, if your son wants to move to Canada—beware of 4-letter weather, though 😛 You’re very blessed to all live nearby. My husband’s family lives in southern Ontario and we’d move there in an instant, if only we could!!! Oh, and there’s already a pic of me on November’s “Fibre Harvest” post @ https://knittingwithheart.wordpress.com/2012/11/07/fibre-harvest/#comments

      Like

      August 25, 2013 at 10:05 pm

      • I am missing you again! Revamped my blog and look forward to your opinion.

        Like

        September 2, 2013 at 5:36 pm

        • Hi Beate ❤ So sorry I’ve missed you again too!!! Your blog links are working great 🙂 I’ve been reading through your Time Management posts and had to laugh at myself when you wrote, “Poor time management creates stress, guilt, fear, overwhelming deadlines” … That is one sentence I can certainly relate to 😉

          Like

          September 24, 2013 at 12:39 am

          • Good to see you again. I was on your fb page! Love your banner! Even not much works yet on my blog, I am starting to promote. Much love , dear friend!

            Like

            September 24, 2013 at 7:50 am

            • Thanks Beate 🙂 Always good to see you on fb and know we are friends ❤ When I was creating the header for this blog, I took many, MANY pics of my knitting props. These came in handy when I needed a fb header and could use a 2nd prop shot from a different angle. The stockinette background, which I created in Adobe Illustrator, gives all the headers a sense of continuity… And one of these days when I start an Etsy shop, these will all work together once again!

              Like

              September 24, 2013 at 5:38 pm

              • Very awesome. my daughter is the photographer in the family. She helps me with those things. She made my banner. I had a different one, she did not like. Start an Etsy shop now, so you be prepared for Christmas business.. I wish I would get this blog finished so I can get on with life.

                Like

                September 25, 2013 at 6:23 am

                • Hey Beate ❤ It’s nice that you have your daughter’s help with the graphics 🙂 I’ve been prepping one of my knitting patterns for the specific purpose of starting an Etsy shop. I’m quite excited/anxious and all ears to your advice 🙂

                  Like

                  October 1, 2013 at 4:56 pm

                  • Well go for it! And send me the link. I tell you my blog is all messed up. I have a blog wordpress.org now and I can’t figure out, why i can’t get the comments from here to there. I do not look at this blog much other than my reading list. I am ready to give up some days. This computer learning crap is no fun to me.

                    Like

                    October 6, 2013 at 10:18 pm

                    • Yep, the blogging life is filled with learning curves! Your .org site is a great idea! Once again, you amaze me and I just hope you’re not doing so much that you ever give up! … So far, I’ve posted my pattern to Ravelry/Craftsy. Lots of interest, though no sales. Now wondering if I missed something, since a friend of ours tried to purchase it but couldn’t. Sometimes it seems like 1 step forward, 2 steps back…❤

                      Like

                      October 8, 2013 at 3:55 pm

                    • You are right. E-mail me your Url’s on your Ravelry. I am not much on there, but we can be “friends” or whatever they call it there. I aslo will start promoting this blog site and If you want, you can put stuff on my slider. The more exposure the better.

                      Like

                      October 8, 2013 at 4:28 pm

                    • Thanks Beate, you’re all “❤” 🙂 I searched Ravelry but only found a bunch of other Beate’s… Maybe you can friend me first and we’ll find each other that way? My Ravelry link is @ http://www.ravelry.com/designers/jackie-loewen
                      Links to Craftsy/Ravelry are included within my recent post. Crazy here, since we’re taking off to see family for Canadian Thanksgiving this weekend. Love you lots and don’t work too hard ❤

                      Like

                      October 10, 2013 at 2:49 pm

                    • Looking for you!

                      Like

                      October 10, 2013 at 8:42 pm

                    • Yay… feels good to be “friends” ❤

                      Like

                      October 11, 2013 at 1:17 am

                    • Amen!

                      Like

                      October 11, 2013 at 1:49 am

                    • Like

                      October 12, 2013 at 4:49 pm

  4. I’m so glad you’ve enjoyed your summer! I really can’t believe that it is nearly September! I will NOT think of Christmas yet! Fall is beautiful in the midwest, and we are planning a trip to New Hampshire to visit my brother this fall! I think the way I cope with the end of summer is to fill the fall with fun things to do! I know you can do that too! Take care and chin up! 🙂

    Like

    August 24, 2013 at 12:23 pm

    • Thanks Sandy 🙂 … heehee… chin up, yup! We just gotta get out there and make the most of summer while the get’ns good! Keeping busy is the way to go! I’m not ready to think about December yet either! One day, I’d love to see one of your eastern autumns—with all those billions of leaves changing colour 🙂 Around here, they barely change colour and their gone from the trees 😦 Hope you have a great trip to New Hampshire ❤

      Like

      August 25, 2013 at 10:09 pm

  5. Yikes, I wish we could all get together and petition for longer summers and falls and much shorter winters, not ready for cold or snow yet!

    Like

    August 24, 2013 at 10:00 pm

    • Hi Elizabeth ❤ Yes, sign me up! I’m never ready for the deep freeze and wouldn’t mind doing away with winter altogether 😉

      Like

      August 25, 2013 at 10:12 pm

  6. I love the video. Have you ever knit with the newspaper yarn? I have never heard of anyone doing that and can’t imagine how or what one would use it for as when it gets wet newspaper end the item? I can’t imagine exactly how one spins it unless you must cut it into very narrow strips? Interesting!! hmmmmmmmmm….???

    Like

    August 27, 2013 at 6:50 pm

    • heehee… yup! Everyone seems to have this same response 🙂 Some folks might knit with the newspaper yarn, but I prefer to simply craft with it. It has zero stretch and is easily ruined when wet. It worked great for the woven basket from my “Spinning & Weaving & Snowbanks Receding ❤” post @
      https://knittingwithheart.wordpress.com/2013/04/

      Like

      August 28, 2013 at 3:09 pm

  7. Hi!! I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award in my latest post 🙂

    Like

    September 3, 2013 at 7:43 pm

Leave a Reply

