. . . luv 'n stitches for our tired old world

the Frog Days of Summer


lace knitting on the porch

As you look at this photo… 
tell me, what do you see?
There in the background… 
Do you see a familiar tree?

Do you see a tree knitting 
alongside of (you &) me? 
That’s “Lady Knit Foliage” 
growing left of the beam…
dressed naturally in
 green!

As you look a bit closer…
tell me, what do you see?
Draped there
on the chair… 
It’s my seemingly endless
midsummer 
knit’s dream 

❤ ❤ ❤

Yes, the lovely lace WIP (WIP aka “work in progress”) draped across the lawn chair has seen many seasons and been on my needles since forever. I’d hoped to have whipped this WIP into a FO (FO aka “finished object/project”) by now, but it spends too much time in the frog pond for that. At this point, I’ve decided it shall become a lacy summer cover-up! Only the thing’s been frogged (frogged aka “unraveled… rip it, rip it, rip it…”) so many times that I’m wondering whether the yarn really ought to have been dyed green! One certainty throughout is that cotton yarn frogs super-well! Frogged it once again today, whether for pleasure or good measure… 😉

And hey, can you believe it is already August? July always speeds by so quick! Back in April, I’d hung my summer dreams on a weather statistic which suggested a possibly hotter than average July. And it was, sort of… But the best part of our summer so far was last week. That’s when Helen, my husband’s super-awesome-fun cousin (her friend wrote a blog post about her here), came to visit from Ohio! We’d been looking forward to her visit for months! So of course, the weather was great until her arrival, and again upon her plane’s departure. Isn’t that always the way 😦

Now she’s back home…  and July is over… and I feel like we’ve been away for a while too! My inboxes are bursting with blogful updates (can’t wait to get reading ’em)… and our hearts are filled with fresh memories, which our iPads have pixelated for posterity ❤

Coming up, I’ll post pics of our sight-seeing and fun yarn adventures 🙂
Between posts, I’ll be working at that lace WIP of mine…
I’m still hoping to wear it this season!

ttys ❤ Jackie

24 responses

  1. Hello there again my friend! I would like to tell you that I once again nominated you for another award. This time it is the “Sunshine Award.” This award recognizes a blogger whose writings “light up the dark corners of our minds” and I think this perfectly describes you!You can check it out on this link http://goodtimestories.wordpress.com/2013/08/04/the-sunshine-award-2/
    Have a great day!!

    Like

    August 3, 2013 at 9:10 pm

    • Awwwe… thank you very much Coach Muller ❤ Your blog posts and this nomination brightens my day too 🙂

      Like

      August 4, 2013 at 2:58 pm

  2. Hey there! I’m so glad you are having such a nice summer! Don’t they fly by? Your visit with Helen sounds wonderful! 🙂

    Like

    August 6, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    • Hey Sandy, thanks and you too 🙂 Summertime is tough to sit inside at the computer, but I’m glad to have finally caught up with all your fun in the summer sun blog posts ❤

      Like

      August 9, 2013 at 8:18 pm

  3. I LOVE the video!!! I have bookmarked Coach Miller’s blog so I can get back to it. It was the perfect thing for me to discover on my blog sites this morning. As a person who gets totally disoriented at heights as to have to hit the deck to regain it, I can’t even imagine the courage it takes to do that. lol Totally beyond me, but it is so inspiring to reach for far more than one can do now. If you read me other reply today you will know how much this is so much not a coincidence to read this today. Saturday is my down day fighting my way back up again. Seeing this will make the fight much easier this weekend. Thanks!!! I also LOVE the music. It is perfect!!!!!! It reminds me to put my Christian CD’s on, too. Who was doing the video? Just awesome and inspiring. Was this an adventure you shared with her?????

    Like

    August 10, 2013 at 7:13 am

    • I’m so glad you’re inspired by this post! I absolutely love the song choice too 🙂 Coach Muller always shares heart-warming stories/tidbits. As for Helen, she truly is a special lady, with a servant’s heart and an adventurous soul who enjoys life to the fullest! Skydiving is definitely not on any “to do” or “have done” list of mine. An old whiplash injury has left me feeling dizzy at the sight of heights and/or watching things that spin… For me, watching the joy on Helen’s face is the next best thing to being there—as she flies through the air ❤

      Like

      August 11, 2013 at 11:23 pm

      • Yes, in her face one could see the bit of anxiety, possibility of fear trying to creep in, relief to have overcome it, and joy or the jump all sort of jumbled together trying to sort it all out, but mostly the joy or having done it. She must live life to the fullest in trust of a higher power as that is definitely above and beyond most people’s norm.

        Like

        August 13, 2013 at 8:55 am

        • For sure! In all that she does, Helen chooses to live life to the fullest… Sometimes that includes skydiving. Often it means sacrificing her wants for the needs of those around her. She is a blessing in our lives and we thank God for healing her brain tumor ❤

          Like

          August 17, 2013 at 12:14 pm

          • and skydiving must be her reward

            Like

            August 22, 2013 at 8:26 am

            • Truly, reward is in the eye of the beholder… and there are rewards everywhere we look, for eyes willing to see ❤

              Like

              August 23, 2013 at 9:28 pm

  4. Nice post!! I love the scenary it’s very peaceful..I hate frogging too 🙂

    Like

    August 11, 2013 at 10:43 am

    • Thank you daniellajoe ❤ Living next to a farmer’s field is peaceful for sure 🙂 The frogging has hopefully come to an end and this WIP will soon be my new FO… It’s got to, because even cotton can’t frog forever!!!

      Like

      August 11, 2013 at 11:48 pm

  5. I liked the description of this post, well done. 🙂

    Like

    August 16, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    • Thanks for stopping by with your pleasing opinion, OM 😀 I totally ❤ your blog! It’s a must-read of mine… currently just 7 posts (oh, make that 8) waiting in my inbox 😉

      Like

      August 17, 2013 at 2:34 pm

      • I remember my post 8 still!

        Like

        August 17, 2013 at 2:36 pm

        • Your 8th post? … Wow, that’s going all the way back to January! For me, it was the London Olympics… ❤

          Like

          August 17, 2013 at 4:44 pm

  6. Your lacy summer cover up is beautiful. I wish I could crochet or knit like that!

    Like

    August 22, 2013 at 2:57 pm

  7. Pingback: family ❤ summertime spun | knitting with heart

Leave a Reply

