. . . luv 'n stitches for our tired old world

Spinning & Weaving & Snowbanks Receding ❤


CdnGeese0348

Anybody out there still looking for spring? Our spring this year has been like an up and down ride on an unsettled weather roller coaster. The blogging blahs are having a heyday! Today’s skies are blue and the snow is pretty well melted… Warm (aka seasonal-average) temperatures are where they always are—dangling like a carrot, several days into the future. Yesterday’s forecast actually included warnings for 10-15 cms of snow, if you can believe it! We all cried, “Oh NO, not snow!!!” and awoke this morning to find that the storm had missed us. It feels like we’re living in a constant state of cabin fever. Yes, and after living bundled-up amidst a harsh, cold landscape that’s been heavily blanketed in snow for 5.5 solid months, I think it’s safe to assume we’re all mighty eager for spring to finally get sprung! Hope you’re enjoying pleasant spring weather where you live!

CdnGeese0359

Earth Day was a long-pants-and-sweater-yet-pleasant sort of day. I took a few pictures of our local pond (where skeins of Canadian Geese flock to every year) and framed the day’s sunset with the season’s first buds on our trees :) The day was comfortable enough to sit a while too, so I did a little basket weaving outside.

EarthDaySunsetBuds3333

Did you have a fibrously crafty Earth Day? Every year, I get the urge to upcycle something crafty. Last year, I tried spinning for the first time. Click here to read the post. This year, using only newspapers, plastic grocery bags and toilet tissue rolls (plus tape, scissors, large-eyed yarn needle and a drop spindle), I wanted to figure out how to make a woven basket. This first prototype is quite rough, but I like it. It’s cute, yet functional :) It took me until the end of Earth Month, but here it is now… my recycled gloom bursting into bloom ❤ It was fun to make and you can be sure I’ll be making more. Once my technique is streamlined, I’ll write a tutorial. Then we can all weave together and save the planet… one basket at a time 😉

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Oh, and if you’re wondering about that little ball of green yarn nestled snuggly in the basket? That poor little yarn got left behind (stranded, if you will) after my fall photo shoot. Click here to read the post. We found it a few days ago. Fair Isle knitting never got stranded like this!

Happy Spring ❤ Jackie

15 responses

  1. Beautiful photos… Hard to believe we have been sleeping with windows open and now snow on the way again… Wow!

    Like

    May 1, 2013 at 1:36 am

    • Thanks ❤ Love having a bit of wildlife nearby + sleeping with the fresh night air. We’ve cracked our windows open only one afternoon, so far. Sure hope your snow misses your area like it did ours!

      Like

      May 1, 2013 at 11:50 am

  2. Hey Jackie! That basket is amazing! I can’t wait for your tutorial 🙂 I’m glad you are inching toward spring weather. Ours has finally arrived I think. Windows open yesterday well into evening!
    Have a marvelous day!
    Sandy

    Like

    May 1, 2013 at 4:51 am

    • Thanks Sandy ❤ There’s nothing that says “spring” like opening up the windows 🙂 Our forecast this week looks more promising… Here’s hoping we’ll finally get to fold away the flannel and fling open the windows!!!

      Like

      May 1, 2013 at 12:01 pm

  3. Lisa

    This basket looks fantastic! I like the variation in colours too. The girls say it looks like something you could buy in a store – that is high praise 🙂

    Like

    May 1, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    • Wow, thanks Lisa! … and THX girls 🙂 Who knew trash could be cute, right? 🙂 The red/black specs are from the Safeway logo on the grocery bags the plastic yarn was spun from. The newspaper yarn was spun from b/w pages. For my next basket, I’ll be spinning colourful food flyers. ❤

      Like

      May 1, 2013 at 1:36 pm

  4. I can’t imagine how you spin those things??? I love idea of making a woven basket.

    Tonight I am finally using that tip you gave me about mattress stitch seams laying flat. Thank you. Just finished sewing the seams of the sweater I wanted to sew the hearts on. My grand daughters are arriving tomorrow for a long weekend visit. A graduation in the family.

    It seems everything is always last minute. My thought is that I just plan too much in the 24 hour period for one person to do. lol I made her a poncho and finished a doll today, a pattern I am playing around with. I love to make dolls and do clothes on them just making it up as I go. This one has a blue streak of hair in her reddish brown hair inspired by our blogger friend in Australia. lol For the other I knitted a small elephants as she likes them and have to figure out how to stuff and sew it together tonight. The how to decorate it up a bit. Right now just think it is fun, but wish I had another day to enjoy finishing things up.

    I have to remember to take pictures like you all do plus as a reference file for later work.

    Warm days this week with things flowering and bees out, yikes, but it has been a very cold spring and lots of rain.

    Like

    May 1, 2013 at 7:10 pm

    • Hey there caforiginals 🙂 As for spinning, I’m no expert but got hooked from the start. I’d say patience + practice = successful spinning. And yes, don’t you just love the mattress stitch? It’s one of my favourit sanity savers! Once finished, do you think you’ll post pics onto your Ravelry projects page? I’d sure love to see your sweater with the Sweetie❤Knit❤Hearts appliqué 🙂 It’s good to hear you’re keeping busy knitting all those sweaters, ponchos, (polka-dots & sparkles inspired) doll, and even an elephant!!! Oh my dear, it appears that you’ve done what I tend to do and double-booked your knitterly self down to the last moment. 😉
      Have an enjoyable time together with your family, this weekend. Congratulations to the graduate! I hope the weather stays warm for you there! ❤

      Like

      May 1, 2013 at 11:57 pm

      • I have never posted any of my work anywhere, like all of you, such a newbie at this computer loop to knitting and knitters. I will try to get pictures at least on my computer and then onto some site somewhere. A new goal to achieve……. There are always so many to make life fun! lol

        Like

        May 2, 2013 at 7:54 am

  5. Pingback: fibrous artistry ❤ Carol Milne’s knitted glass | knitting with heart

  6. Pingback: Happy Spring E-eek-quinox ♥ | knitting with heart

  7. Pingback: the KWH iPad Show 💜 April snow showers | knitting with heart

Leave a Reply

