. . . luv 'n stitches for our tired old world

Great Spring Expectations


Great Spring Expectations ||| Knitting With Heart

Well just look at that gorgeous, clear, blue sky! One of these days when the weather warms up, this will be one of my favourite knitting spots 🙂 Yes, here we are 3 weeks into the official springtime season and you could almost find me out there already—almost. These last couple of days have indeed felt like “spring” 🙂 The next couple of days will not 😦 . That’s because this weekend, just in time before the snow actually melts away, another snowstorm packing another 20 cms is expected to fall from the skies. This does not match with my spring expectation.

GlobalWeather1

Our local weather forecast, graphic by GlobalTVEdmonton.com

On the upside, much less than 20 cms is expected to accumulate. PLUS, our snow tires are still on the car! Even more on the upside is the statistical hope for a scorching July… Yup, according to weather records and our local meteorologist, all 10 of our below-average months of April throughout the last 100 years were followed by HOTTER than average months of July ❤ Again, this does not match with my spring expectations… But oh boy, we’ll take it! That is one statistical tidbit for which I will be hoping in all earnest to come true!

Great Spring Expectations ||| Knitting With HeartAlready, it’s like my “spring fever” blues are lifting… July is only 3 months away… I remember the day this picture was taken (August 2012). That was an amazingly sweltering week of knitting in our backyard 🙂

And how is your spring knitting weather shaping up?

Great Spring Expectations ||| Knitting With Heart


Oh, and this
“spring app” graphic?

No worries…
It’s just a gag…
I’m SURE (hoping)
that spring will
be available
here this year!

See you in the comments!   ❤ Jackie

22 responses

  1. No snow here, but cold, cold, and more cold to frigid……………. We are supposed to have another warm day this week that we may be able to “play” and do yard work outside. I am sure you know who does each. lol I love the app gag and it did have me going for a few minutes how to correct it.

    I DO NOT like the temps getting unseasonably warm into the 90’s-100’s here. It decks me inside and doing almost nothing. No house AC yet and fans just do not do it all the time. After 3 days even the window AC doesn’t cool the room much. I have to cover the kitchen windows with colorful tablecloths to keep the heat out and must make curtains for the living room as the ones in there are almost see through and don’t do it either. It gets to be like making the house a cave instead of enjoying the great outdoors.

    I have resorted to a floor and higher fan with a plastic tote filled and refilled with jugs of frozen water (ice) in them from the freezer in front and then sitting in front of it. Those jugs get heavy lugging them up the basement steps. lol

    Thanks for reminding me to start those heavier curtains and preparing. It does hit suddenly at first and then becomes a routine event that we never had except in the last few years. If not for the trees in the yard we would suffocate. An AC for the entire house is in the plan, but then the utilities will increase summer and winter.

    My life is in transition right now, lol, as to being one of more work and this reminds me of more that I must do. Yikes!!! Good thing that I like my work A LOT. I need motivators like this reminding me that life is changing everywhere for whatever reason and one must adjust to keep it a good life. And it is a good life.

    I love the knitted item blowing in the wind in the one picture. It looks beautiful! Oh no, more work…………………….

    Like

    April 13, 2013 at 6:12 am

    • Yes, life is good here too. I’m happy you’re happy and that your snow is no more. ❤ Your comments have often motivated me too! Sometimes “life” just seems like one big transition… For our next transition, I’d like to move into a phase where there is no more snow! It got pretty stormy this weekend. Today it was sunny ‘n bright, and now snowing again… More manna from heaven :)): The “spring app” was a joke I’d seen on the news. It made me laugh, so I searched online for the graphic but couldn’t find it anywhere and finally created my own version of it.
      And if your summer weather is anything like what they get in southern Ontario, then I sure hope you never run out of ice, and I hope you do get that AC asap! My husband’s family has told me all about the humidity there, but I’ve only ever experienced it one year. That was some kind of humidity!!! You just sweat from the moment you step outdoors—then go inside, have a shower, step back outside and immediately need another shower. Any shade/breeze you can get from trees is completely necessary… whew!!! Around here, the air is much dryer and is never heavy with humidity. Thanks to the dryness, though, our hottest summer temps are just plain hot… and our coldest winter temps are just plain cold! We get so little humidity that people complain about it as soon as any actually develops 😉 Ferocious thunderstorms always follow a good day in the sun, but they never last long.
      Our backyard gets full SW sun exposure, so the house can really heat up quick. We don’t have AC, since it would only come in handy for a few weeks per year. All we have are those 2″ blinds (no curtains), a couple fans and of course the basement. We just shut those blinds tight by about 9 AM and switch the bathroom fans on (to suck the hot air out). This manages to keep the place at a comfortable living temperature.
      Oh, and that lace? It’s still a WIP… It may stay that way for a while, if this weather continues. It’s supposed to become a pretty summer top, but I haven’t quite decided how to “top” it off ❤

      Like

      April 14, 2013 at 5:29 pm

      • I am trying to top off the doll I am making by sewing it together hoping it turns out cute and putting hair on it this week. In the 70’s today!!?!! What a change?

        Like

        April 15, 2013 at 12:12 pm

        • 70’s?!? So happy for you 🙂 This week we’re struggling to simply maintain a few degrees above freezing…. ughhh!!!

          Like

          April 15, 2013 at 2:04 pm

          • That was our last week, hoping it would stay above freezing. Don’t know what happened, but we are liking it. it won’t last though and a storm supposed to come tonight. Warmer this week, but this was not even in the prediction, so who knows…..

            Like

            April 15, 2013 at 3:25 pm

  2. I wish I’m looking forward to the upcoming season as you are over there! I’ve never really been a big fan of the cold but winter is something we can’t escape. Time to put the summer clothes (reluctantly) off the racks and bring in my autumn/winter gear….*pout*

    Like

    April 14, 2013 at 5:27 pm

    • Ah yes, the hemispherical flip-side of weather … lol … ‘Guess it’ll be your turn to knit a little something warm ‘n woolly 🙂 We never look forward to winter here either. But hey, doesn’t it stay fairly warm year-round in Australia? How cold do your winters typically get?

      Like

      April 14, 2013 at 5:59 pm

      • Depends on which part of Aus you’re at. Around the coastal regions the winters are milder and never really freezing but the further inland you go like Canberra the capital for example, it gets quite cold around -5 degrees Celsius to the low 10 degree Celsius range in day time. And of course high up in the mountains it snows. I suppose that is considered fairly warm as compared to how cold it can get in some parts of the northern hemisphere… :p

        Like

        April 15, 2013 at 12:46 am

        • Oh yes, sounds warm to me! We used to live on the southern coast of BC. It’d snow in the mountains and for a couple weeks per year we’d see snow in the valley. Some people wore shorts all winter. Now we live in the northern prairies where winters are harsh. We moved here with our garden spade and now own 3 shovels… complete 360°!!! We’re learning to adapt, but don’t want to get too comfortable—in hopes of moving somewhere south someday… I hope you’re lucky enough to live on the coast ❤

          Like

          April 15, 2013 at 1:49 pm

          • Shorts in winter? Ok now that’s mad. We recently moved from one side of the country to the other and are currently about 45mins away from the coast but higher up above sea level so it means our winter will be cooler than at the coast itself. We have a fireplace in the house so you know where I can be found when winter does hit. LOL!

            Like

            April 15, 2013 at 4:27 pm

            • Hahaha… yup! But die hards like that would generally be male and working active/outdoor jobs, such as courier service. I remember you blogged a bit about moving. I hope you are enjoying your new place. What side of the country are you living at now? Back in BC, we lived about an hour from the Pacific Ocean 🙂 It’s nice that you can live so near the coast and have a cozy fireplace to knit next to ❤

              Like

              April 15, 2013 at 6:18 pm

              • Yes…I moved from Western Australia to Eastern Australia (Goldcoast area) at the start of the year. It’s still warm enough here surprisingly, so the fireplace has not been started up yet. I don’t mind a slight delay of cold weather at all =D

                Like

                May 3, 2013 at 2:11 am

                • Ohhh, the Gold Coast must be a wonderful place to live ❤ Stark contrast, compared with the weather around here 😛 Spring appears to have finally arrived (late) and we’re looking forward to turning our furnace off soon 🙂 Hmmm… do Australian homes even have furnaces?!? Hope we can all keep up the warm weather!

                  Like

                  May 3, 2013 at 5:58 pm

                  • =D some houses have fireplaces and some don’t. It’s a very beautiful here today, not too hot and not too cool…time to go outside and enjoy this while it lasts!!

                    Like

                    May 3, 2013 at 6:59 pm

        • That is interesting about the weather. I have been watching this tv show about Extreme Homes and a lot of them have been in Australia with a lot of open space living sometimes between sections of buildings that all make up the home. They are beautiful, some quirky and very interesting which makes me like them very much, VERY expensive, and it has made me wonder about the weather that they can build and live in these open complexes to the weather. Some in New Zealand, too. I love the kangaroos and wild life just roaming about in their yards because here we would only see them in zoos.

          Like

          April 15, 2013 at 3:31 pm

          • Yes so true, when it comes to weather “who knows” is exactly right! We’ve watched those Extreme Homes shows too. What a dream it’d be to live in a climate where homes like that are possible! ❤ But alas, our reality is more winter than summer…

            Like

            April 15, 2013 at 6:12 pm

  3. Lisa

    Your view is lovely – something to give you peace as you work out the knots!

    Like

    April 17, 2013 at 3:53 pm

  4. Jackie, thanks so much for visiting my blog earlier! Your snow! I think we’ve been snow-free about 3 weeks now. But of course last week we had a major flood in our town. We have a river that runs through the middle of town and it seems to flood almost once a year for the list 6 or 7 years!

    Luckily our home is on “high ground” and we haven’t had any damage but so many of my friends have, and its heartbreaking. It is a disaster that comes slowly. You know it is coming but there is nothing you can do. (other than lots of sandbags).

    I am praying this is the last flood we have for awhile. We have been having rain almost every day this week, but in smaller amounts so the river can handle it. Of course huge temperature fluctuations too. Today a high of 49, tomorrow is supposed to be in the 80’s. I guess that’s a Spring in Ohio!

    The Mystery KAL that mom and I are doing is coming along! This week’s assignment is very easy. Be we have been promised some lace work next week. I can’t wait!

    Take Care and I hope you have beautiful warm weather soon and enjoy knitting on your porch!

    Like

    April 17, 2013 at 6:11 pm

    • Thanks Sandy 🙂 I’m happy you found my blog because that’s how I found YOU! Your blog is a pleasant place, and I think it’s SO special that you and your mom are knitting buddies. ❤

      It’s nice to know that your snow has all melted 🙂 Those are some wild temperature swings in your area, but 80°F would sure feel great! This week, we’ll be lucky to reach 50°F. Our snow has been with us for 5.5 solid months. Yeah, but it’s melting… slowly… too slowly. Flooding is definitely not fun. What a relief/blessing, to know your house is built on higher ground and can avoid the trouble/messiness. Hopefully you won’t get too much more rain for a while. I grew up in southern Manitoba where the Red River flows north from North Dakota and seems to threaten a flood every spring. Sandbagging parties were only so much fun 😛

      Your mystery KAL is looking good. It has me stumped, but it’s fun to follow along with you 🙂 How many more weekly tips do we get to figure it out? Have a wonderful day! I’ll be thinking of you, as you enjoy your 80°F temperatures ❤

      Like

      April 18, 2013 at 12:25 pm

  5. Pingback: the Frog Days of Summer | knitting with heart

Leave a Reply

