. . . luv 'n stitches for our tired old world

Easter in Living Colour ❤


mulit_coloured_sheep_by_cooldawg-d3houjw

Mulit Coloured Sheep by Cooldawg

As we g(r)aze upon this vivid “flock of sheep” photo… does it remind you of anything?

To me, it’s like a baa baa baah-sket filled with colourful Easter eggs 🙂  . . .  Or like the grazing version of my knitting fantasy to have a neatly stacked wall(s) filled with yarn!  . . .  I find it rather stimulating. Yet at the same time, it warms my heart and gives me that cozy-warm, fuzzy-snuggly feeling inside ❤

Truly, this photo is vibrant and fantastic,
yet peaceful—all at the same time.
Who could have guessed that a splash
of neon-pastel could look so perfectly natural
in a meadow, right?

394px-Flock_of_sheep

These particular sheep belong to a research flock at the US Sheep Experiment Station near Dubois, Idaho, USA

And here are the same sheep, au naturel…
Their natural beauty leaves us wanting nothing more than to reach out and hug ‘em in all their lovely woolly goodness. Yet the artist’s colourization technique (pictured above) has quite definitely added a whole new level to the thought of soft & cuddly!

And so this Easter, these photos have reminded me of the reason why my heart loves to celebrate Christmas and Easter. Everyone celebrates in their own way, but for me it is all about Jesus! And just like these photos, my life naturally seemed pretty good until I met Jesus Christ and invited Him to be Lord of my life.

Ever since then, life has become more and more vibrant and fantastic, yet peaceful—all at the same time. Plus oh so colourful, even on dreary days when it doesn’t really feel like it.

Wishing you a colourful life! ❤ Jackie

❤ ❤ ❤

He is not here; 
He has risen, 
just as He said.
— Matthew 28:6 — 

13 responses

  1. The colorful ones just make me chuckle -lolololol….. I dream of organized shelving for wonderful colorful yarn. Instead it is stored anyway I can store it in anything that I have. I just went and got 3 vibrant colors of yarn for children’s sweaters, a dark coral that reminds me of a spice or pumpkin instead of coral, lol, a perfect pink that is medium and vibrant in tone:yet, not flashy, and a blue suede. I will intarsia knit a yoke pattern of contrasting colors. And as I was purchasing, I was vowing to still use up my yarn stash before I buy anymore. At least I will work on it for sure as it was part of the bargain. Yes, God is awesome!!!

    Like

    April 1, 2013 at 10:23 am

    • Oh-h-h-h… those colours will knit into some gorgeous intarsia! Which colour will be the background? Sometimes we just gotta buy more yarn… no sense going on a starvation diet, after all! 😉
      LOL… yes, that colourful flock just makes me smile every time too 🙂 I’d had the link to the natural flock of sheep photo for a while, but only recently found the colourized version. In that moment, I just KNEW they’d form a blog post 🙂 I’m so pleased that it came together for an Easter theme ❤

      Like

      April 1, 2013 at 7:34 pm

      • True. LOL That is exactly what it feels like, a starvation diet. lol Those will be the body of the sweaters and I will choose contrasting ones from my stash. I thought they would pretty and bright on the computer pictures. Thinking a little ahead.

        Like

        April 2, 2013 at 8:50 am

        • Hmmm… I think you’re thinking more ahead than you think! 😉 Those sweaters will surely make a lovely group photo… Sounds like a blog post in the making ❤

          Like

          April 3, 2013 at 1:20 pm

          • That is a good idea for my blog picture. Hadn’t that of it. I was thinking more etsy that to use some well coordinated colors might draw more interest. Yesterday I got bright yet mellow lemon skein and the smaller sizes only take less than a skein so the leftovers of all the colors will make a good simple intarsia design. Sometimes I just do hearts with a border or sail boats or just a ski type design, not too complex, but distinguishing them from just a basic one color sweater.

            Like

            April 4, 2013 at 7:02 am

            • Ah yes, now your blog is cooking on the front burner 🙂 It’s a very good idea to incorporate pics of your knitting into blog posts + an attractive header image! The header can then be customized to suit your various blog/etsy web pages… Colour will help get you noticed. Consistency will help people recognize your “brand”. Good thinking ❤

              Like

              April 4, 2013 at 9:03 pm

              • Yes, it is definitely getting more front burner and I am beginning to picture it in my mind a bit. Before I just knitted, but didn’t think of how it looked on a computer for sure. But it will still take time to knit these sweaters and sew some ponchos together. One patient step at a time. lol

                Like

                April 5, 2013 at 10:15 am

                • Oh yes, that’s just how it was for me. Envisioning the basic look in your mind’s eye is a big step toward your blog’s reality. Keep at it and the rest will follow… One of these days your simmering ideas will begin to shimmer! ❤

                  Like

                  April 5, 2013 at 12:36 pm

  2. What a wonderful illustration of your point. I totally agree that God adds the color to all of our lives!

    Like

    April 5, 2013 at 9:38 pm

    • Thank you for your encouraging comment and choosing to receive updates for this blog! So good to hear you agree 🙂 Your blog is lovely ❤

      Like

      April 6, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    • I agree. Sometimes when I am about to start a downward spin to being sad or discouraged and look up, there is a beautiful sunset or a colorful bird to get my attention and make me remember that God is present and all will be OK.

      I have thought for years that knitting with colorful yarn kept me from concentrating on a dreary sky or long day or some sadness in life.

      Like

      April 7, 2013 at 6:57 am

      • Yes, colour is a gift from Heaven… so simple, yet so powerful! Oh how dreary our lives would be without it ❤

        Like

        April 7, 2013 at 6:28 pm

  3. Pingback: happy Easter ♥ happy birthday ♥ happy life . . . because He lives | knitting with heart

Leave a Reply

