. . . luv 'n stitches for our tired old world

Shamrocks & Springtime & Snow Storms . . . Oh My!


shamrock-snowball

Spring is in the air and finally on the calendar! This year, winter marked Thursday’s first full day of spring with a doozy of a blizzard… The day was windy, treacherous, and left us with an additional foot or so of fluffy snowflake from heaven. It was a rather timely storm, I’d say. Surely, this will also have been winter’s last blast!

Lucky for us, we are blessed to have a wonderful neighbour (see photo below) who has taken it upon himself to snowblow several neighbouring driveways whenever the weather is looking all white. His name is Randy, but we think of him as our “snow angel”. God bless Randy for caring to clear our driveway throughout the season—including twice on Thursday, then again Friday AM for a third time in two days ♥

These days our forecast is filled with bright sunshine! But what does one do with all of that snow?! You might mix it with fun reader feedback… Isn’t that so? (THX bekswhoknits & caforiginals)

Shamrocks and clover are symbolic of spring. And so before anyone could say, “Sweetie♥KNIT♥Shamrocks in the snow”, my needles were sprouting 4-leaf versions to add to my collection. Outside in the backyard, my nimble knitting fingers arranged them all just so. Then with my camera, I snapped a bunch of pics in the glistening, white, powdery snow 🙂

This photo op was also a great op to help smooth out my Gimp software learning-curve!

Our mid-March snow storm on the first full day of spring... before, during and after pics + lucky Sweetie❤KNIT❤Shamrocks

PICTURED ABOVE: tri-photo collage of our mid-March snow storm on the first full day of spring… including before, during and after pics + lucky Sweetie♥KNIT♥Shamrocks

Yes, it was fun to create this snow-scaped collage of Sweetie♥KNIT♥Shamrocks. Look closely and you will find three lucky 4-leaf Sweetie♥KNIT♥Shamrocks “hidden” amidst the mostly 3-leaf versions. Does any of this inspire you to knit a meadow’s worth of Sweetie♥KNIT♥Shamrocks for an Easter and/or springtime scavenger hunt in your own backyard?

Wishing you a happy first week of spring!  ♥ Jackie

23 responses

  1. Yes, that is about what we are having. It was sunny with lots of snow and beautiful winter scenery out the front window, it is in the forecast here for another week with no warm temps in sight. Well actually they are about 10 degress warmer and a few days with no wind chiill in the teens, so that is good. It has me cleaning out all my yarn stash and sorting and undoing what won’t get finished to use the yarn again. Nice cold days for the project. Happy, George, and I are very content to stay inside.

    I love those shamrocks!!! Just like the hearts that started me reading this blog. lol

    Right now still undoing and winding yarn. Then finding a better more organized way to store it. Found some totally forgotten items in the search and cleaning. When my new camera becomes a comfort zone, I will share some pics.

    Like

    March 25, 2013 at 1:24 pm

    • Yep, as far as I’m concerned “wind” is a 4-letter word… Sure loving all this prairie sunshine, though! We’ve seen on the news that remnants from our storm, plus a couple other weather systems are working toward your area. Definitely a good time to be on the inside of the front window looking out! Oh, and is your dog’s name “Happy” or “George”? … Getting organized now, before the nice weather finally arrives is a smart move 🙂 My yarn space could sure use some re-organizing attention… maybe next winter… LOL ❤

      Like

      March 26, 2013 at 2:18 pm

  2. Hey hun. I’m having trouble downloading your Heart pattern.
    Could you email it to me? Beks(at)polkadotsandsparkles(dot)com

    Like

    March 26, 2013 at 3:35 am

    • Uh oh, sorry to hear you’re having difficulties with downloading my Sweetie❤KNIT❤Heart pattern. Thanks for letting me know, though! Your PDF has been sent. Hope it works… let me know if it doesn’t ❤

      Like

      March 26, 2013 at 2:21 pm

      • I got it thanks 🙂
        And I managed to download it too (it helps if you’re not stocking up on Easter TV at the same time! So my fault)

        My shamrock came out a little wonky. I think I need more practice at the hearts. It’s only 3 lines but that slip 2 place them the other way maneuver gets me every time!

        Like

        March 26, 2013 at 5:33 pm

        • Great! Glad to hear it worked 🙂 And, if you’re having difficulties with the s2kp2, then maybe try using larger (4mm? + double-stranding the yarn if necessary) needles until you’re comfortable with this decrease. I’ve done the s2kp2 a zillion times and still need to slow down and focus whenever I’m working it with finer yarn on 2-3mm needles.

          Like

          March 26, 2013 at 8:11 pm

  3. Hi! Thank you for taking the time to stop by my blog and liking one of my posts. Wonderful blog you have here. God bless!

    Like

    March 30, 2013 at 6:22 pm

    • Thank you for stopping by to see my blog too 🙂 Morning Story and Dilbert had reblogged your post… which I pinned (and got re-pinned) to Pinterest ❤

      Like

      March 31, 2013 at 9:00 pm

      • Yikes!!! Guess I should figure out what all that means and start my own blog soon.?

        Like

        April 1, 2013 at 10:28 am

        • Hmmm… are you confused about the reblogging? Do you remember the “New Year’s Wish” post when you first found my blog? That was a reblog. I’d been confused at first too, but once it was done it became less confusing. The “Sandy Hook” post was my very first attempt at reblogging… But it was too late at night and didn’t go so well… Thankfully, Lyn Leahz @ Promise Book (author of the post I’d been trying to reblog) responded graciously with comments of wisdom. She helped me feel much more at ease with reblogging 🙂 As for content, your comments have proven to me that you have a lot of interesting “life” to build a blog around. In fact, I am so eager that I’ve already signed up to follow your blog. ❤

          Like

          April 1, 2013 at 8:57 pm

          • Oh, I think I get it. When she answered my reply to your blog, hers was a reblog. I did go on her blog and saw that my blog address which is still blank was on hers. Still reading a few now and gain to get some ideas and checked out some quilting ones as another interest of mine. Interesting world this blogging is. LOL

            Like

            April 2, 2013 at 9:41 am

  4. Now if I could just change the name of mine so people might know what it was about. Maybe it is possible, too.

    Like

    April 2, 2013 at 9:42 am

    • The name took me forever to decide too. KWH was actually my husband’s idea and I could’ve saved a lot of time by listening to him sooner! 🙂 Oh yes, so many great blogs to discover… Not sure what happened there with your comment, but it’s always nice to find a new blog to appreciate 🙂

      Like

      April 3, 2013 at 1:25 pm

      • It is a very good name and with the heart pattern is is so perfect!!!!

        Like

        April 4, 2013 at 7:09 am

        • Thanks! 🙂 With all the heart-shaped knitting patterns I’ve been writing, it was imperative that the URL say “knitting” + “hearts” first/foremost, while being easy to remember ❤

          Like

          April 4, 2013 at 9:18 pm

  5. Lisa

    I love the shamrock!! Now if I can only remember how to make all the stitches 🙂

    Like

    April 4, 2013 at 8:37 pm

    • Thanks Lisa ❤ The individual stitch instructions are written on the printable .pdf pattern. Thanks for the reminder, though, since I’ve been wanting to set up a separate “tech” page.

      Like

      April 4, 2013 at 10:11 pm

  6. Pingback: Happy Spring E-eek-quinox ♥ | knitting with heart

  7. Pingback: the KWH iPad Show #19 💜 friendly fibre & neighbourly farewell | knitting with heart

  8. Pingback: #42 💜 Shamrockin’ St. Patrick’s Day! | knitting with heart

  9. Pingback: #59 💜 shamrockin’ pot o’ rainbows | knitting with heart

Leave a Reply

