. . . luv 'n stitches for our tired old world

Spring is in the Air… and March is in like a Lamb


pic of groundhog knitting

Last month on Groundhog Day, the furry meteorologists predicted an early spring. Fast forward one month and sure enough, March is coming in like a lamb. But how did the groundhogs manage to get it right? Do they spend their winter hibernation months conducting underground studies in rodent meteorology?!? All we can say for sure is that the lion of spring has laid back—allowing warm, lamb-related thoughts to spring ahead 🙂

We’ve lived here 4 years, now (furthest north I’ve been in my life). We’ve heard longtime locals claim it can snow any month of the year. And we know from experience that March weather can be anything from mild to extreme, or anything in between. Moving here in 2009, our first March welcomed us with -50ªC temps and loads of snow!!! Yet even so, hope manages to thrive in the winter-worn hearts of all who survive… Yep, hope for the day melted snow stops freezing overnight into hazardous ruts with potholes and finally stays away! I’m looking forward to that day 🙂

And hey, speaking of spring…
Have you heard these goats sing?

 

Here’s hoping spring stays in the air! ❤  Jackie

26 responses

  1. I will have to see where exactly that province is. On tv I love to watch the shows about how people live in Alaska as I thought at one time it would be such fun to live. there. Now I am not so sure, but living there can put a person’s basic life’s survival skills to the test that are not challenged in the lower states which could be an interesting challenge. Not sure I could handle all that nighttime darkness or that bright light summer time.

    The possibility of snow all year round is a new one to me as I thought everywhere had a secure measure of time where snow just didn’t happen except very near the North and South poles. A good place to knit nice warm comfy attire for sure.

    We do have a groundhog that has tunnels in the yards around here. I always wondered what he was doing all the time underground as we hardly ever see him.?!! As far as we can see he does no damage and threatens no one so we just let him or her be as interesting backyard “wild life.”

    I made a a dirt pile and a cozy little nook for my grandson and me in the forsythia bushes and then realized the ground hog still had 2 tunnel openings about 1 foot each away from our cozy little nook. A note of caution came into my head as the advisability of building our rnook there, but hadn’t seen him in months to a year or so.

    Well, wouldn’t you know, a few mornings later I open the back door to let the dog out and who is sitting atop the dirt pile as big as life like telling me “I am here.” lol We had been experiencing a real dry spell so I thought it was a good idea to water the bushes so the leaves would stay on as it was our cover for “our” place. The water had been running down into the groundhog holes, I noticed, and I wondered about that, but with the drought thought maybe he would like it if he still existed there.

    Still not sure if he was re-claiming the space as I had only in the last year sited him in the 2 houses away neighbor’s yard or if he or she, not sure which, was saying “thank you” for some cooling moisture and water to drink.

    One never knows about those ground hogs!?!

    Like

    March 3, 2013 at 6:23 am

    • Oops… ‘guess I forgot to say we’re located just south of Edmonton (Alberta’s capital city). That’s about 3-4 hours NE of Calgary and Banff (mountains) + about 4 hours S of Fort McMurray (Alberta oil sands). So, it’s not really so super-duper far north. Around here, we do not flex our outdoor survival skills much. Like you, we prefer to watch the Alaskan reality programs on tv 🙂 We’ve been told it’s been known to snow in August. We’ve personally experienced early May snow (which only lasts that day) in 2 of our 4 years living here…. but not a flake between May-November.

      This is big sky country, and my favourite part about living this far north is the super-long days of summer! Our longest days stay light outside until nearly midnight, with the sun rising again about 5 hours later ❤ Winter is, of course, the flip-side and we try not to dwell on that thought. Thanks for asking 🙂

      Like

      March 8, 2013 at 2:15 pm

      • lololololololol Guess I missed the mark on that one totally. So last night and this morning as it is Saturday and my time to not do much until my mind and body settles so I can do something after the week of babysitting, lol, instead of spending the morning reading, I did some research on Alberta, Canada, very little actually, and Edmonton, to learn more about where it actually is. So ignorant of so much. lol Talk about learning a lot from someone.

        I actually have always pictured Canada with a lot more wilderness than it probably has from the videos and info that I found. I have always really liked Canada as it seems cleaner and not to have the violent crime rate that the US has now. In my childhood a murder was so rare as to happen in decades from another occurring and now everyday they are on the news. And the recent occurrence of school shootings is a phenomenon no one can understand. It seems like Canada still has its direction and we have lost ours. The children’s shows produced in Canada are always so good. So now I know you are not out in the wilds somewhere. It is beautiful country!

        Actually I pictured you in the Eastern part of Canada, too.

        I live in the same state as Puxatawney Phil, the ground hog and not far from Niagara Falls. As a child we would take trips to Niagara Falls often and have picnics along the way with aunts, uncles, and cousins. There was always something cleaner and somehow calmer about Canada even though we were just across the border or not very far inside the country. So it has very pleasant memories for me. I loved all the car trips we made and is the way I like to travel, but I really can’t anymore which saddens me so it is fun to blog with people who are from somewhere else. On a train trip to Boston we met 2 women traveling in the US from Australia which was fascinating sharing things about our different countries.

        I live in a very teeny tiny township than has has at least 5 churches in it. Alberta is huge. It is a VERY family based town which I like. The neighborhood is somewhere middle class and it has always been a very safe neighborhood and town with everyone hoping it stays that way. For years no one even locked their doors, but everyone is a little more vigilant about those things now days. People do A LOT of walking at all hours and feel safe doing it. I can walk my dog after dark and know that usually there will be other walkers out there or it will be safe. People greet and say “Hi!” to each other and for the most part are quite friendly. We feel very fortunate for that even though some people have thought the police a little too high handed about things sometimes.

        It is said the on a clear day one can see Canada across the lake, but I have never seen it. lol After 9/11 it was a great comfort somehow to know that Canada was so close to be almost a stones throw away. The mailmen in the area said they saw the one plane circling out over the lake, so it was very real and frightening. I was babysitting that day and had about 4 kids and could reach no one by phone and for a few brief moments thought I would be raising these kids as people did in WWII overseas keeping children safe. The terror in it was such an isolating experience. Everyone lost a bit of their innocence that day that War could never happen on this continent. One night shortly after, a plane was flying an odd course with huge lights zeroed down on the ground as it passed. it seemed almost low enough to see the pilots it seemed, but I am sure it was my terror as I just stopped and stared at it. It tipped its wings which I thought meant it was friendly and went on. Then I became VERY aware of the fact that this was a border and planes were patrolling it and that wonderful friendly Canada was on this continent with us and it was something for which to be very thankful.

        Liked by 1 person

        March 9, 2013 at 1:05 pm

        • Hahaha… missed it by “that much”, as Maxwell Smart used to say 🙂 Awe, that’s okay. Canadians have all heard Americans describe us this way. We understand, but uhhhm, I think we can probably squeeze a few more lol’s into your string of laughs… How about it? 😉 One thing’s for sure, it’s always good to learn something new! Hearing your pleasant memories of Canada has touched my Canadian heart and brought a tear of delight to my patriotic eye! It feels good to laugh, while gushing with patriotism 🙂

          Your teeny tiny township sounds like a nice, quiet place to live. May it always feel like a safe place too! How interesting, to hear that you live near Niagara Falls and can possibly see Canada on a clear day. My husband grew up in the Niagara-on-the-Lake area in Ontario. We were out there to visit family/friends this past summer. Too bad we all live so far apart. We would love to move there someday. ❤

          And yes, 9/11 was certainly a moment like no other, with lingering and rippling effects… These are dangerous times we live in. It is comforting to know that the USA and Canada are more than just vast, powerful lands. We are friends… like friendly, brotherly neighbours. Praying the Lord keep our countries steady, strong and free ❤

          Like

          March 12, 2013 at 8:25 pm

      • Back to the basics. I explored the mitered square which is really easy and fun to do, but haven’t found a use for it yet as what I was going to do wasn’t turning out as I wanted. I am sure I will though.

        So back to the basics again to use up the left-over yarn. My daughter got me hooked on making ponchos and my grand daughters love them, so back to a basic easy pattern of 2 panels of whatever size for the size poncho in garter stitch. I am doing 2 rows of a leftover ball of yarn combined with a skein of left-over baby yarn, 10-1/2 needles, then cutting the yarns at the end of 2 rows for easy fringe. VERY multi-colored, but will be cute for the kids and will go with everything and anything. When the panels are sewn together there will only be a small length to make fringe for in the varied yarn choices.

        At least that is the plan.

        It seems so easy that for the Shriners Hospital I might make some and donate for the girls, but the boys will have to be some animals plus animals would be nice to cuddle for the kids who have surgery.

        These have to be easy and inexpensive to make enough to donate. These will have so little sewing and making fringe which can be time consuming. I will have to explore the shawl pattern with some fringing this way, but now have been doing a little crocheted ruffle on them.

        If knitting easy is as relaxing as yoga I must need A LOT of relaxing, lol, as I just love to make these simpler things just exploring the different yarns and colors. Just thought I would share some of the simplicity of my knitting. I can do the Aran knits and intarsia, but for some reason right now I just enjoy the relaxation of it.

        Like

        March 12, 2013 at 1:20 pm

  2. I have never heard the term “stash buster”, but it says it all. That is what I am into these days. It is either that or another room or about 5 closets with shelves. not happening. So stash busting is what I do.

    The poncho idea is working quite well and doll ponchos bust a bit. It really challenges the creative mind to design. lol

    Like

    March 18, 2013 at 8:59 am

    • LOL… yes, stash busting is a great way to knit! It’s easy on the budget and also good exercise for our creative brains! There have been so many times when I’ve searched my stash for the “right” yarn and had to try some other combination instead. But then so many of those times have resulted in unexpected treasure… It’s like a “something out of nothing” thrill 🙂
      Those multi-colored-fringe ponchos sound great! Your granddaughters and their dolls must love you and them ❤ Maybe the mitered squares would work for the ponchos too? Simple knitting is sometimes under-rated. I’ve never tried yoga, but do believe in the importance of having something simple to knit on a regular basis 🙂

      Like

      March 19, 2013 at 1:53 pm

      • yes, I just found a simple vest pattern on Lion Brand for some homespun that I have been making shawls with by striping the yarn, 2 rows of one, then 2 rows of the other, which allows one to just carry the yarn along as you knit. Some striped vests are now on the list as one grand daughter is 13 yrs. and she went through a designing clothes phase Christmas before last and I am trying to encourage her, plus she is getting to that clothes stage. Since she was much younger she has had this flare of grabbing a scarf or anything and just knowing what to do with it to wear it in some fashion as an accessory. Not my talent for sure. Her mother though has always had that fashion sense, too.

        The younger one is funny as she has her own fashion sense of a bit remarkable combinations, yet it is so her to mix whatever with whatever that we just chuckle and her mother gets a kick out of it as she knows how her own style has been important since she has been about age 5. One girl and had no fun dressing her up or fixing her hair. lol Then she was a gymnast and you know what they wear. The boys didn’t care though, just so they had clothes. lol

        Just keeping up with your blog and sharing thoughts and a love of knitting is really inspiring me again as like I said I don’t know anyone anymore who knits and have not done any craft shows for such a long time that there was no incentive or feedback to get me going again. I was feeling like someone who should have been born in another century and then with my fascination with the quilting flowering and knowing no one anymore who does that, I was beginning to believe I was as eccentric as a few people were implying. lol Nice to know that I just needed to get into another loop and the computer has done that.

        All the stash of homepsun came from a store that buys out stock from stores going out of business, I think, and at the local Dollar Tree where everything in the store is $1, they had quite a bit of Lion Boucle that kept me buying for awhile. The 2 yarns seem to work together nicely in the striped shawls and because they have a variety of colors in them mix well as one yarn almost.

        I had A LOT. Sold some ponchos, still have some, gave some away, then started the shawls give-away, or a few to try to sell or give away if not, afghans, and still some left. The price was so incredible that I just kept stocking up on it not realizing how far it would go. Now trying sweaters and vests. But it is getting to an end sometime so looking for more bargains again. Found this caron simply soft shadows which is beautiful and soft on clearance on Mary Maxim and can’t find it again so it might have been discontinued. Red Heart super saver was my main stay for the children’s sweaters I did with the simple intarsia patterns on the yoke and bottom as border. No seams except weaving a few stitches under the arm, a pattern I keep copying and copying as lost the original and never want to lose it as it is so basic and size 10 needles.

        Like

        March 19, 2013 at 3:21 pm

        • Your grandchildren sound very lively 🙂 So good. Yes, each child is unique. Encouraging a child’s own personal style is time well spent! Then as the years pass, it’s so interesting to note how their adult character has developed from such a young age 🙂

          It makes me so happy to hear how you’ve “joined the loop” and found new knitting inspiration here at my blog ❤ I also wish we could go shopping, since you seem to know where to find such great deals on yarn! One time, when Mary Maxim had Bernat Boa on special (I think it was $1/ball) I dove right in—having never seen Boa in person—and ordered 50 balls online… Sadly, most of those are still sitting here, since I’m still thinking of what to knit with ’em … sigh…

          Like

          March 25, 2013 at 2:06 pm

  3. LOL Yes, But you have them now and you can. You can even be really creative and try mixing it with another yarn. All you really to knit anything is the right gauge once you decide what you want to knit it into.

    Like

    March 26, 2013 at 6:34 am

    • Oh yes, I have tried knitting the Boa together with another yarn, but it’s just such a fluffy texture. My eyes love the colours/texture, yet my brain sputters at the thought of visualizing it as anything more than a ball of yarn. Hmmm… actually, it might make a nice teddy bear!

      Like

      March 26, 2013 at 3:53 pm

      • I got a lot of lion brand eyelash yarn at the Dollar Tree, any color they had. I made a couple of scarves, but then I used it as a stripe in afghans for my grand daughters with other yarn so just as an accent and texture. They turned out well.
        I like your idea of teddy bears out of it. I was thinking of using some for my critter creatures that I am beginning to design and make. It is fun to knit for kids as your imagination can just go wild with ideas to try as they like so much and aren’t as “sophisticated” in their tastes as adults are. They just like the fun of everything. lol Thus a nice design space to spend the day and to then work in with them in mind. My father was a toy designer for a toy company so he is my inspiration and early teacher. Little did I know at the time how much it would affect my life and for the better of it. I loved my Dad and love his memory.

        Like

        March 27, 2013 at 10:45 am

        • Wow, having a job designing toys is pretty cool! You must have had a lot of fun times—playing with your dad when he brought his work home with him 🙂
          Your critter creature designs will be fun too! There’s just something inviting about a bit of furry accent 🙂 In my stash, I have a bunch of Baby Monkey. I love that yarn!!! It’s ohhh so soft ‘n furry ❤ I was thinking I’d use it for a teddy bear… But now I’ll plan to make a Boa Bear 🙂 It’ll be a while yet, but this is the pattern I plan to use when I finally get around to it @ http://pinterest.com/pin/12596073928495056

          Like

          March 28, 2013 at 2:09 pm

          • Adorable teddy bear pattern. Does the pattern use double pointed needles or does one knit the pieces. I definitely DO NOT like to use double pointed needles although some patterns I have switched to not using them even though I am not fond of sewing seams either.

            Like

            March 29, 2013 at 9:22 am

            • Ah yes, seaming… The mattress stitch works like a dream, but it’s still an extra step. The pieces are knit flat, so there’d be a lot of seaming. I’m drawn to the reverse stockinette, since it would have the furriest effect. It might work to knit it in the round, then turn the pieces inside out before filling/attaching…?? Thus my contemplation continues. ❤

              Like

              March 31, 2013 at 8:57 pm

              • Thanks for that suggestion. I will try that mattress stitch to finish this birthday stuff up this week.

                Like

                April 1, 2013 at 6:42 am

                • Happy to help ❤

                  Like

                  April 1, 2013 at 9:02 pm

                  • I am naming the two patterns that are the result of her birthday presents with my grand daughter’s name in it.

                    Like

                    April 2, 2013 at 9:46 am

                    • Awe… ❤ and what is this name of sentiment?

                      Like

                      April 3, 2013 at 1:34 pm

                    • I think it will be “The Colorful Chloe” as her personality is very exuberant and colorful!

                      Like

                      April 4, 2013 at 9:50 am

                    • Very sweet ❤ … TCC for short 🙂

                      Like

                      April 4, 2013 at 9:24 pm

  4. The groundhog knitting is cutest thing in the world! I love it <3.
    I wish I could understand the animal talk. That would fun! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    February 8, 2016 at 6:34 am

    • Thanks Myra 😀 Yes, s/he’s totally adorable… hmmm… I wonder what all they’d chatter about 😉 I’m so happy you enjoyed it! 🙂 ♥ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      February 9, 2016 at 12:16 pm

Leave a Reply

