. . . luv 'n stitches for our tired old world

Fibre Harvest


Winter, spring, summer, fall… What is your favourite yarn season of all?

Over the winter, I tend to cuddle up in my favourite knitting corner on the couch—surrounded by as much yarn as possible. ❤ By the time spring gets sprung, my needles and lawn chair are raring to get back in the groove of knitting outdoors. ❤ All summer long, my cotton knitting pleasure is to sit and knit outside—preferably every single hot, sunshiny day! ❤ Once fall is upon us, my nimble knitting fingers gravitate toward the gathering of bulky balls of yarn—all the better to keep warm, whilst knitting outside just one more day… in effort to prolong the outdoor knitting season until the fresh, crisp autumn air gives way to winter’s white chill.

Then this year, I decided to try something yarnishly different. You might say that I pulled a few strings to do it 😉 … a few strings toward a bountiful sweater harvest.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It all began a few years ago, when I received a hand-me-down sweater from a friend-of-a-friend. This simple-yet-colourful pullover was knit of thick, cushy stitches. Truly, it was a hand knit look-alike, although the “made in Hong Kong” garment tag suggested otherwise. Handknit or not, however, wearing that sweater always seemed to turn into a sneeze-fest for me… stuffed-up ‘n sniffly… and that’s no way to be.

Then finally this fall, since unravelling an entire FO (finished object) had always intrigued me, I decided to unravel that sweater. It’s good to “check” another task off my knitterly bucket list! My goal for this project, due to its fibrously fuzzy nature, was to unravel outdoors as much as possible (thereby avoiding as much sneezing and vacuuming as possible). A bagful of colourful fluff, which is saved for fibre-fill, was gleaned from the reclaimed yarn. To my delight, and for the sake of this blog (right, as if plain old yarn was not fun enough), this reclaimed collection of recycled fibrous-fluff quickly took shape as a colourful heart amidst the fresh-fallen snow 🙂

Yes, unravelling this old sweater was a great autumn project! More fun by far, than dipping into the proverbial frog pond for a frogging session with one’s own (erroneous) knitting! Have you unravelled a sweater? Ever taken it upon yourself to take apart an entire FO? In other words, have you ever frogged just for the yarn of it? Feel free to share your proclamation of yarn reclamation in the comments below 🙂

Hmmm… now then, what shall I knit from my lovely stash of reclaimed yarn? ❤

5 responses

  1. Ooo exciting! I can’t wait to see what sort of new life is given this colour yarn! I recently read about another knitter unraveling a second-hand sweater (good quality yarn at super cheap price). I think it’s a great idea ‘cos new yarn can be very expensive. Anyway, I’m looking forward to your update on this one and also, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award: http://knitxpressions.com/2012/11/15/a-liebster-award/ =)

    Like

    November 15, 2012 at 7:17 pm

    • Thanks knitxpressions 🙂 The nomination sounds like fun! I’ve not yet decided what to make of all my newly harvested yarn, but thinking slippers… or something not so near to one’s face. What would you suggest?

      Like

      November 16, 2012 at 7:27 pm

      • Not sure why the first thing that popped into my head is ‘bag’. And why something not so hear to one’s face??

        Like

        November 17, 2012 at 10:05 pm

  2. Ah yes, a bag… that is a great idea, THX! My thought to knit this yarn into something not so near to my face was only because wearing the old sweater seemed to make me sneeze so much.

    Like

    November 18, 2012 at 3:35 pm

  3. Pingback: Spinning & Weaving & Snowbanks Receding ❤ | knitting with heart

Leave a Reply

